ODI World Cup Final: Moments Of Glory

ODI World Cup Final

Published on October 19th, 2023

The ICC Cricket World Cup has been the pinnacle of One Day International (ODI) cricket since its inception in 1975.

Over the years, the tournament has witnessed some of the most iconic moments in the history of the sport.

From the very first edition in 1975 to the most recent in 2019, ODI World Cup finals have produced unforgettable records and remarkable moments of glory.

Let’s take a journey through the years, reliving these epic encounters that have left an indelible mark on cricket history.

1975 – The Inaugural Showdown

The inaugural Cricket World Cup took place in 1975, hosted by England. In the final at Lord’s, the West Indies faced Australia.

The Windies’ total of 291/8 in their 60 overs proved too much for Australia, who managed 274/9. The West Indies emerged victorious, with Clive Lloyd scoring a monumental century (102*).

This historic final set the stage for the World Cup tradition.

You May Also Like: Top 5 All-Rounders To Keep An Eye On In The Cricket World Cup

1979 – West Indies’ Dominance Continues

The West Indies retained their title in the 1979 World Cup held in England.

Facing England in the final, the Windies put on a total of 286/9 with Vivian Richards contributing 138, and it was Joel Garner who stole the show with 5 wickets for just 38 runs.

England fell short, managing only 194 runs. West Indies’ dominant performance made them the undisputed champions of ODI cricket.

1983 – India’s Stunning Upset

The 1983 World Cup final in England witnessed a monumental upset.

India, led by Kapil Dev, faced the mighty West Indies.

The West Indies were the favorites, having won the two previous World Cups.

India was bowled out for a modest total of 183 runs.

India, however, put up a fight and West Indies were bowled out for 140 runs, and India secured their first World Cup triumph.

1987 – Australia Claims The Trophy

The 1987 Cricket World Cup, held in India and Pakistan, saw Australia battling it out with England in the final.

Australia posted 253/5, thanks to a stellar performance by David Boon.

England could only manage 246 runs, and Australia secured their first World Cup win, setting the stage for their future dominance in ODI cricket.

You May Also Like: How To Watch ICC World Cup 2023 Live Streaming

1992 – Pakistan’s Glory

The 1992 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand saw Pakistan face England in the final.

Pakistan, led by Imran Khan, posted a challenging total of 249/6.

Wasim Akram’s two crucial wickets in one over swung the game in Pakistan’s favor, and they emerged as champions, marking their first World Cup win.

1996 – Sri Lanka’s Historic Triumph

Sri Lanka’s 1996 World Cup win was a historic moment for the nation.

In the final Australia could only muster 241 runs, and Sri Lanka, led by Arjuna Ranatunga, achieved 245/3 with the help of 107* by Arvinda De Silva and secured their first World Cup title.

This victory marked the beginning of Sri Lanka’s dominance in the ODI format.

1999 – Australia’s Second Triumph

The 1999 World Cup saw Australia face Pakistan in the final. Pakistan batted first and Shane Warne’s 4-wicket haul restricted Pakistan to 132 runs.

Australia reached the target for the loss of 2 wickets only leading to the second World Cup win.

You May Also Like: Fascinating Insights: ODI World Cup Statistics, Records, And Trivia

2003 – Australia’s Third Triumph

Australia continued their World Cup domination in the 2003 edition held in South Africa.

In the final against India, Australia set a massive target of 359 runs.

India managed 234 runs, and Australia secured their third consecutive World Cup win.

2007 – Australia’s Hat-Trick And Fourth Triumph

Australia’s reign as ODI World Cup champions extended to four titles in the 2007 final against Sri Lanka.

Although the final was marred by rain, Australia emerged as winners, showcasing their dominance in the sport.

2011 – India’s Redemption

In the 2011 World Cup, India faced Sri Lanka in the final.

Srilanka posted a competitive total of 274/6, and India achieved the target for the loss of 4 wickets.

This victory was especially significant for India as it marked their second World Cup triumph and for the first time host nation won it.

You May Also Like: Unbreakable Cricket Records: 10 Achievements That Stand The Test Of Time

2015 – Australia’s Fifth Title

Australia continued to dominate in the World Cup. In the final New Zealand was all out for 183 runs only and Australia managed to reach the target for the loss of 3 wickets only, securing the fifth World Cup title.

2019 – England’s Maiden Triumph

The 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand will be remembered for its thrilling Super Over finish. Both teams scored 241 runs in their respective innings, and even the super super-over was tied.

England was declared the winner on the basis of boundary count. England secured their first World Cup win, ending their long wait for glory.

The ODI World Cup finals from 1975 to 2019 have given cricket fans numerous unforgettable moments.

From the West Indies’ early dominance to Australia’s incredible run and India’s redemption, these finals have defined eras and created lasting memories.

As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the next World Cup, it’s these moments of glory that remind us why the tournament remains the pinnacle of ODI cricket.