Cricket IPL

5 IPL Records That Will Likely Never Be Broken

IPL Records That Will Likely Never Be Broken

Published on March 28th, 2023

The Indian Premier League’s success can be attributed to a combination of factors. Firstly, the amount of money involved in the tournament is unmatched by any other T20 league in the world.

This has attracted some of the biggest names in cricket, who are paid astronomical sums to participate. Secondly, the IPL’s format is designed to provide maximum entertainment to viewers.

The fast-paced games, close finishes, and high-scoring matches have made the IPL a fan-favorite. Additionally, the IPL’s success has had a trickle-down effect on Indian cricket, as it has led to the discovery of many talented players who have gone on to represent the Indian team.

Finally, the IPL has been successful in tapping into the Indian psyche by bringing together players from different parts of the country, which has resulted in a sense of national pride among fans.

The Indian Premier League has gained immense popularity over the years due to various factors such as high rewards, the participation of top-notch players, and a packed schedule.

However, what makes this T20 tournament even more exciting is the incredible records set by players that seem impossible to break.

These records and the names associated with them add to the intrigue and excitement of the IPL. Let’s take a closer look at some of these unbreakable records.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been witness to some incredible records since its inception in 2008. These records are what make IPL a fascinating spectacle for cricket fans worldwide. While some of these records are difficult to achieve, others are impossible to break.

You May Also Like: 20 Surprising Cricket Facts That Will Leave You Astonished

Top 5 IPL Records That Fall Under The Latter Category

Record For The Highest Team Score In IPL History

1. Virat Kohli 973 Runs In A Single Calendar Year

Virat Kohli’s performance in the 2016 Indian Premier League was nothing short of spectacular. Kohli not only ended the tournament as the highest run-scorer but also set the record for the most runs scored in a single edition of the IPL. His tally of 973 runs came at an astonishing average of 81.08 with a strike rate of 152.03.

During the tournament, Kohli also became the first and only player in IPL history to score four centuries in a single season. His centuries came against Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab, Rising Pune Supergiant’s and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Kohli’s 109 against Gujarat Lions was his slowest century in the tournament as it took him 58 balls to reach the landmark. On the other hand, his 113 against Kings XI Punjab was his fastest century in the IPL as he took just 50 balls to reach the milestone.

Despite Kohli’s heroics, Royal Challengers Bangalore failed to clinch the title as they lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final by eight runs.

Nonetheless, Kohli’s performance was one for the ages and will always be remembered as one of the greatest individual performances in the history of the IPL.

2. Chris Gayle 175* Versus Pune Warriors India

Chris Gayle, one of the greatest players in T20 cricket, created history with his unbeaten knock of 175 against now-defunct Pune Warriors India.

He hit 13 fours and 17 sixes during his innings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore posted a mammoth 263 runs on the board.

3. 229 Runs Partnership Between Virat Kohli And Ab De Villiers

The partnership between Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers for the second wicket against Gujarat Lions in 2016 is one of the most remarkable partnerships in IPL history.

Kohli scored 109 runs, and de Villiers smashed 129 off just 52 deliveries. The partnership was worth 229 runs, and Bangalore won the match by a whopping 144 runs.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders 10-Match Unbeaten Record

Kolkata Knight Riders hold the record of the longest winning unbeaten streak in IPL. The team won their last nine matches in the 2014 edition and their first game in the 2015 edition. This winning streak helped the team win their second title in 2014.

For cricket enthusiasts eagerly anticipating IPL 2023, here are 31 top-rated fantasy cricket apps that offer an immersive gaming experience.

5. Chris Gayle And Ravindra Jadeja Scoring 37 In An Over

Scoring 37 runs in a single over is an incredibly rare feat in cricket, and it is even rarer to see it happen twice in the Indian Premier League. The first instance of this record being broken happened in the 2011 IPL season, during a match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

Chris Gayle, one of the greatest T20 players of all time, was at his absolute best during this innings, smashing the ball all around the park and scoring an unbeaten 175 runs off just 66 deliveries.

He took a particular liking to the bowling of Prashanth Parameswara in the 19th over of the innings, hitting him for five sixes and two fours to score an incredible 37 runs in that over alone. Gayle’s innings helped RCB set a mammoth target of 263 runs, which the opposition couldn’t chase down.

In 2021, a decade after Chris Gayle’s feat, Ravindra Jadeja joined him in the elite list of players who have scored 37 runs in a single over in the IPL.

This time, it was during a match between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. After a poor start from the Chennai Super Kings in the first innings, Jadeja came in to bat and completely turned the game around.

He smashed Harshal Patel, who was bowling the 20th over of the innings, for five sixes and a four, scoring 37 runs in the over and finishing the innings with an unbeaten 62 runs off just 28 deliveries.

Jadeja’s incredible batting performance helped Chennai Super Kings post a competitive total of 191 runs on the board. He then carried his momentum into the second innings, picking up three crucial wickets with his left-arm spin to secure a comfortable victory for his team.